Bay Area Counties Ordered To "Shelter In Place"

A family takes refuge inside during a storm.

Six Bay Area counties will be having a "shelter in place" order for all residents. This requires for everyone to stay home and away from other people as much as possible for the next 3 weeks.

The order is said to take effect Tuesday 12:01am. The following counties will have to enforce this order:

  • San Francisco County
  • Santa Clara County
  • San Mateo County
  • Marin County
  • Contra Costa County
  • Alameda County

It is required to stay in place until at least April 7. Stores will remain open in the counties.

San Francisco Mayor London Breed tweeted,

Effective at midnight, San Francisco will require people to stay home except for essential needs.
Necessary government functions & essential stores will remain open.
These steps are based on the advice of public health experts to slow the spread of #COVID19.


Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content

WiLD 94.9 · The Bay's #1 Hit Music Station!
Listen Now on iHeartRadio